Blurbs

OK, just bought Sarah Silverman’s memoir, The Bedwetter, and it’s kind of awesome.  All I have read is the jacket so far and she had me with the praise from Diego, age 2.5 that says, “I want juice.”

This inspired me to post the blurbs for a novel exerpt I workshopped some 3 years ago (gosh) I’ve been working on that thing for a long time.  I’m not working on it now though.  I’m in a perpetual state of “eff that” at the moment.  The blurbs are below.  Enjoy.

Praise for Venita Blackburn’s Who’s Afraid of the Pussy Monster 

 

“Shameful.  Where is the pain, the murky terror of truth that a writer or otherwise must devote one’s full girth to until there is nothing but that which is unspeakable, that which is most evil and that which is the purest blessing of all?  This?  This is tripe, cold as a Thursday and thankfully not as long.”

-Toni Morrison

“Although it is a rare and violent thing for a person with my sensibilities, I think she could have made me laugh.

-James Baldwin

“Marry me!  Don’t tell my wife.”

-George Saunders

“Terrific!  Here is a writer with mountainous calm and patience in life and an unrelenting, hysterical voice on the page.  The words are pleasant and surprising like finding loose change, fragrant as bubble gum in the cushions of a sofa.  Better still, somebody else’s sofa.  She is an everyday delight.”

-Aimee Bender

“Not in my book club.”

-thus saith the Oprah

“You, Venita Blackburn, should marry me, David Foster Wallace, and feel free, not bound or hindered, to tell my wife, person that deserves no proper name, if you, Venita Blackburn, want to talk about it, the marriage.”

-David Foster Wallace

“I’m award winning.  I’m British.  I’m beautiful.  What the fuck else matters?”

-Zadie Smith

“I believe I should live a few more years in hopes that this will pass.”

-Gabriel Garcia Marquez

“Dark.  Unflinching.  It stays with me.”

-Renee Simms

“Where do you come up with this stuff?”

-T.M. McNally

“I love the Pussy Monster.”

-Beth Staples

“I was confused about the celibacy.”

-Paul Tunis

“I like that scene of the man buying tampons.”

-Aimee Baker

“disturbing and well done, although a bit hard to picture.”

-Liz Wimberly

“Greatest masturbation scene of all time.  Dear Jeebus.  What a sense of urgency.  (2nd place-The Land Before Time)”

-Robby Taylor

“I know that took a lot out of you, tahehe.”

-Marqueshia Wilson

“Big deal.”

-Aaron Velasquez

3 Responses

  1. I remember these blurbs! You’re a master mimic, V

  2. I’m still confused about the celibacy.
    -Paul Tunis

Leave a Reply

